Huskers vs. Troy…

So much to say, but I have been traveling all week and running out of time.  Here are my thoughts.

Last Week-

  • The end of the game and final score was a shame.  The men in Red played well enough to win. 
  • It would have been nice to get the new coach his first win in his first game.
  • For the first time in years, I saw football (on both sides of the ball) being played by the team with the “N” on the side of their helmets that resembled they type of play I remember from my youth.  Where have you been?  Its been too long.
  • CU was better than I gave them credit for.  Montez is a good QB, Shenault and Nixon are the real deals at wideout.
  • Having said that, CU is still a bunch of dirty cheats.
  • CU should feel lucky the cheap shot did not result in a season-ending injury.
  •  Seeing NU and CU on the field together made me slightly nostalgic.
  • We can run the football…how about that?
  • Seven sacks…did we have that many sacks all last season?
  • Seven 3 & outs…did we have that many of those all last season?
  • Adrian Martinez exceeded my expectations.  He is going to be special.
  • NU wideouts need some hand work.  Dropped a critical pass on 3rd down and a sure touchdown.
  • The play-calls on the two 4th & 1’s was the worst two call I saw NU call all day.  Maybe it was because they were the exact, same vanilla play called… 
  • I was wrong. Playing the Akron game would have made a big difference after-all. Had that game been played, we win this one by 10+ points pretty easy.
  • Ozigbo still has a lot of heart. I like that guy.  
  • While Hill and Washington looked good, I still didn’t see that back with break-away speed.  Not a criticism…just an observation.
  • The 4th quarter personal foul was ticky-tack.  Close enough that you don’t make that call when the game is on the line.
  • If you are going to call a personal foul, how about on the play where CU executed the ol’ “high/low”, with No. 44 trying to remove his lower leg at the knee.  For future reference, THAT is a personal foul for sure.
  • You can’t spot your opponent to hams in the first quarter and expect to win the game.
  • I liked a lot of what I saw on Saturday.  Our future is bright.  Can’t wait to see where this team goes with some real coaching for the first time in 15 years.  

This week-

  • Its going to be hard to cheer against my namesake…but I will manage.
  • Troy is not the same Troy team of last year.  Not even close.
  • Troy does not have a Montez, Shenault or Nixon playing for their offense, or anyone closely resembling them for that matter.
  • Troy is highly suspect in the defensive backfield.  An area someone like Frost should be able to find a way to exploit.
  • Nebraska will, for the first time in many years, improve between their first and second games.  Less penalties, mistakes, etc.
  • I predict Andrew Bunch will start at QB, and do just fine…maybe even better than fine.
  • Not a fan of morning games.  Never have been, never will.
  • The running game, behind our improved o-line, will keep churning and make Bunch’s job far easier.
  • More Blackshirts will be earned this week…expect the unit to play well.

The spread is around nine, I think it’s on the light side.  Scott should get his first Husker win and then some…

Huskers –         41

Troy’s boys-    20

Go Big Red!!

 

 

Leave a comment